Portrait of the Artist as a Young Carrot

Today I fulfilled a long-held dream of mine, and I think it counts as community service? See, Madison public schools are celebrating Farm-to-School month on “Wisconsin Wednesdays”––the day of the week that school cafeterias serve locally-grown fruits and vegetables. I heard about the events and a call for volunteers to help out, possibly by dressing up as a fruit or vegetable. My initial reaction was, “Where do I sign up?” and that’s how I ended up in an elementary-school parking lot putting on a carrot costume.

“You don’t have to wear the costume,” the volunteer coordinator assured me, but I gave her my best are-you-kidding-I-can’t-wait look. Frankly, I was shocked I didn’t have to fight over the costume with the other volunteers.

portrait of the artist as a young carrot

It’s probably the closest I’ll get to celebrity-status, and I have to say, having experienced my lunch period of fame, I can see the appeal. As I walked through the cafeteria, kids yelled, “Look, a carrot!,” “Hey, carrot girl!,” “Can I hug you, Mr. Carrot?” and my personal favorite, “I love carrots!”

I also got to talk to some fans who asked me about all kinds of things, mostly pertaining to my brand (carrots). One kindergartener, however, asked a more philosophical question: “Why are you talking like that?”

“What do you mean?”

“Why are you talking like that? Like, with your mouth?”

“I don’t know. I’ve never thought about it before.”

This is why celebrities get media training.

Portrait of the Artist as a Young Carrot

3 thoughts on “Portrait of the Artist as a Young Carrot

  1. Pat Judge says:

    There is an old saying—carrots are good for the eyes. Well, dear Kristy, you proved the truth of those words–the picture is wonderful and so is the story. This world can get better, one healthy child at a time! Keep up planting good ideas. Me in MI.

Feel free to leave a comment

