What I Want To Say

In my life I have seen women shamed for choosing to have an abortion, and I have seen women shamed for getting pregnant or having babies when they “weren’t supposed to.”

I have seen women shamed for having more babies than they can “afford” (as though a baby is a commodity!). I have seen women shamed for being “selfish” and choosing not to have children.

I have seen women shamed for working instead of “staying home with the kids.” I have seen women shamed for demanding that their unpaid labor is valued and compensated by the men who benefit from it.

It is obvious to me that our choices are always under attack.

I refuse to join the chorus.

What I want to say to the women in my life is this: I love you, and I trust you to make the best choices for yourself.

I know you can’t get pregnant by yourself, and I hope all your sexual experiences are happy, safe, and wanted.

I support your right to become a parent. I support your right not to.

I support your right to raise your children in a safe environment with access to food, water, shelter, and all the other things that all humans deserve. I support your right to live a happy life with family, community, and fulfillment even if you never have children.

Your life matters to me.

No matter what choices you make regarding your reproduction, I will never judge or vilify you.

I support you.

What I Want To Say

3 thoughts on “What I Want To Say

Feel free to leave a comment

