Hello, Wisconsin!

madison wisconsin lake at sunsetThe top two questions I’ve been asked since leaving New York are “How’s Madison?” followed by “What do you mean you’re not in Madison yet?!” so I thought I’d let everyone know that we made it! I got here the day before yesterday, and so far these are the things I’ve done.

DAY ONE

On Monday I walked around with Devin looking for a place to eat before realizing that every restaurant near our house was closed for Labor Day. Luckily, Devin had a little food in our house, so we decided to pack up some sandwiches and eat by one of the lakes. The picture at the top was our dinnertime view.

DAY TWO 

I heard about a monthly meet-up for bloggers, small-business owners, and creatives called #TuesdaysTogether hosted by The Rising Tide Society through Instagram, and it just happened to be yesterday. I can’t say I wasn’t intimidated by the thought of walking into a room without knowing anybody (I may have considered skipping it to go to the Trader Joe’s across the street). But thankfully, everyone I talked to was really nice and made me feel welcome––so welcome, in fact, that I wasn’t even that bummed when I tried to go to Trader Joe’s afterward only to find out it was closed. (I love Trader Joe’s, remember?)

DAY THREE

That brings us to today, the day I locked myself inside my own house.

No, no, don’t worry, you don’t have to call 911 or anything. I know my keys are in here somewhere, but I can’t find them, and if I leave, the door will lock behind me. And today just happens to be Devin’s busiest day, so he won’t be home until 8. I’d planned on going grocery shopping because our fridge is almost empty at this point, so I was starting to feel sorry for myself, until I remembered I could find restaurants and order food online. (Mandatory moment of silence to contemplate the magic of the internet.)

OK, I’m going to eat dinner and watch something online, but I just wanted to say one more thing: if you’re starting something new this fall, I’m right there with you and sending you good vibes. (Imagine I just sent you 100 flexing bicep emojis because that’s what I’m doing in my heart.)

Hello, Wisconsin!

8 thoughts on “Hello, Wisconsin!

  1. Pat Judge says:

    KRISTY DEAR,
    STARTING SOMETHING NEW IN THE FALL IS A GIVEN–IN HUNDREDS AND HUNDREDS OF LIVES–AS LITTLE PEOPLE AND BIG PEOPLE STEP OFF TO SCHOOL.
    FORTUNATELY—YOU HAVE BEEN THERE, DONE THAT. SO, PLEASE CONSIDER YOURSELF A PRO. DEVIN AND MADISON ARE LUCKY TO HAVE YOU THERE! ALL WILL BE WELL, ALL MANNER OF THINGS WILL BE WELL. LOVE, GRANDMA

  2. I hope you found the keys. Vernon’s sister lost the keys to her house, her car and her cabin the other day, with no spare….. so at least you only had to wait for Devin instead of getting all locks replaced!
    Also…. welcome to Madison! Sounds like you had a good start! Hooray for new things…. scary but exciting!
    Also… will miss you!
    Xx

Feel free to leave a comment

