One dress, two ways!

Hello! Welcome to an outfit post where I tell you how to get the most out of those wardrobe basics so you can look good while being cheap, you fabulous recessionista! Just kidding (kind of), but I am going to talk about how to wear a dress two ways…for Halloween!

The past two days have been a costume dream come true for me. On Friday I was Supreme Court Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg. One of the very best things I’ve read all year is her dissent on the Burwell v. Hobby Lobby Supreme Court decision (highlights here), and I count her as a personal “shero” for justice. Even though she is so often in the minority, she always seems to have a smile on her face. I imagine her as someone who has a sense of humor and passion for life as strong as her sense of justice. I really want to be friends with her.

And since we’re talking costumes, I must admit I think her sartorial sensibilities are on point. I have a dream of a designer basing a collection on her style and having the clothes manufactured by awesome worker-owned cooperatives that give employees full health insurance coverage while protecting their right to free speech and ensuring they are not disenfranchised from voting, of course. Every dress would come with a handy pocket U.S. Constitution. Wouldn’t that be rad? Won’t you fund my Kickstarter? ; )

Notorious RBG

Me as RBGThe best part of the day was running into some suffragists at the Village Halloween Parade. We screamed in mutual feminist costume appreciation, and took some pictures together.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Earlier that day I made a little protest pumpkin to put on my desk.

On Saturday I got to wear a costume based on my favorite movie costume of all time: Audrey Hepburn in How to Steal a Million, and Devin was kind enough to dress up as Peter O’Toole (the romantic lead in the film). I don’t have anything intellectual to say about it except that Devin was very concerned about dressing up as a character from a film he’s never seen, and I had to brief him on the plot on the way to the party, complete with the Wikipedia article because my grasp of the movie was not up to par.

My initial summary was, “Well, the costumes are really beautiful, and they sneak into a museum for some kind of art crime. Maybe fraud? Or one of them is an art thief?”  Devin looked at me with disdain. “You haven’t seen it since 2010, and you fell asleep?! What if someone asks us to explain the ending? We’re supposed to know what we are!”

And I thought, “He is my favorite nerd in all the world.” Let it be known that if Devin had been in charge of costumes, we would have carried around a statue rather than a painting because that is “the piece of art that is central to the plot.”

That eyeshadow, though

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

So, there you have it. One dress, two ways. Dreams do come true. Special thanks to my mom for buying me this beautiful dress at a consignment store. She always has the best taste!

One dress, two ways!

6 thoughts on “One dress, two ways!

Feel free to leave a comment

