It’s in the wave

Photo from Gothamist.com
Photo from Gothamist.com

I’ve challenged myself to write every day for the month of November, inspired by National Blog Post Month (or NaBloPoMo as all the cool moms on blogspot.com called it back in the day). I don’t know if I’ll post every day because that might lead to ill-advised blog posts like, “Do you ever skip going to the gym because your hair looks too good? Me too. The End,” but I hope to write at least 20 by November 30.

And this is my first one.

Yesterday Devin and I went to the Village Halloween Parade for the first time. It was crowded, and I am short, so I couldn’t see much; but I had a very reliable narrator by my side who told me about all the cool puppets and floats.

Devin: Hey! Miss America and Miss Universe are on that float!

Me: The real ones?

Devin: Yeah!

Me: How do you know?

Devin: (thoughtfully) I think it’s in the way they wave.

Turns out, he was right. Whoopi Goldberg was also at the parade (in fact, she was Grand Marshall), and Devin spotted her, too. It must be tough to be famous on Halloween because skeptical people like me just think you have a really good costume.

In my opinion, the best costume at the parade was donned by the Empire State Building, which shone in seemingly every color before settling on a pumpkin theme.

It’s in the wave

2 thoughts on “It’s in the wave

Feel free to leave a comment

