A cool thing happened

A few weeks ago my cousin Caren, the artist and singer and Mexican-candy provider (thank you, beibi), came to visit. This is the second time she’s stayed with us in New York, and once upon a time I visited her in Paris, so I can say with authority that she is a fantastic city explorer. It’s always fun to play tourist with her because she’s up for anything and everything, but she also has ideas for what to do so we never get bored, and she always manages to sneak in some culture-with-a-capital-C while we’re together so it’s not just vintage hats, phone cases, vegan soup, and garlic pills (the last one was her idea).

Last time she was here we saw two operas (okay, okay; she saw two operas. I saw one…and a half), and this time we went to see a play I’d been dying to see called This Is Our Youth, starring Michael Cera (from Arrested Development), Tavi Gevinson (from THE INTERNET), and Kieran Culkin (from, um, the Culkin family!).

Afterward, Caren and Devin kindly waited with me to meet the actors and get their autographs, and I even got a picture with Tavi, who seemed just as fun and interesting as she does online and prompted me to think about how much I love the internet. Really. *NERD ALERT* I’m grateful to have this way of finding community, learning about new things, and staying close with the people I love. The whole thing is so weird and cool, and I’m still as amazed by it as I was the first time I heard about it on the radio in July of 1996. I don’t think I’ll ever have the words to fully pay homage to the World Wide Web, so let me stop here.

21st-century autograph

Fun fact: I am pretty short and shy, so to get the autographs I just kind of stuck my playbill up and hoped they’d see it. When Kieran Culkin signed it, he said, “Aggressive. I like that.” I immediately thought of Sheryl Sandberg and Leaning In and Banning Bossy, etc., so I just nodded like yes-I-am and blasted off with my rocket pack to shatter the glass ceiling once and for all.

A cool thing happened

Feel free to leave a comment

