A comprehensive summary

It’s best not to count your chickens before they hatch, but I’m confident that, unless the internet breaks irreparably, my blog will turn three years old on Monday; and I probably won’t have time to write anything then because Devin and I have a date with the great outdoors. Blogging in the woods is decidedly not romantic, so here we are!

I started this blog right after graduating from college, and it’s weird to think about how much has happened since then. It doesn’t feel like my life is that different, but the stats say otherwise. In three years, I have said goodbye to Portland, moved to New York, and gone to Texas and Chihuahua, Mexico a bunch of times (note to self: blog about that more!). I’ve become an aunt and a married person. I’ve also had a lot of jobs and meals and little adventures.

I’ve been thinking lately about what kind of writer I am and realized, to my dismay, that I am a chronicler of small moments. I have some blog posts up my sleeve about Carnegie Hall and Chicago and a perfect little farm in Wisconsin, but for some reason, it’s always harder for me to write about the exciting than the mundane. It’s a bummer because I would like to write about all the exciting things that I’ve been able to do by some lucky coincidence, but I usually end up writing about grocery shopping instead. Really. I could have blogged about having a sleepover at the Waldorf-Astoria, but instead I wrote about smiling. I could have blogged about going to a star-studded event, but instead I wrote about dropping something. My blog posts aren’t usually premeditated, and I’m not sure what it means that these are the things I focus on, but I guess I can feel better about it if I tell myself that I am writing about things that are relatable. After all, I bet most people like the thrill of eavesdropping, and even more of us have waited in line to go to the bathroom.

Another thing that’s true is that I like writing personally. Three years ago I started a blog because I wanted to write about my whole life–not everything that happens to me but every facet of myself from silly things like making food to things that are possibly more controversial like my views on bordersSeptember 11th, and activism.  I wrote about these things because politics and ethics are just as integral to our selves as opinions and preferences. I didn’t want to shy away from that, and I’m proud that I haven’t. There’s an old feminist slogan that says “the personal is political” meaning that there are bigger issues affecting our everyday lives (how much we are paid or whether we are harassed on the street, for example). Conversely, I believe that it’s important to consider how the political is personal and to think about our role in making those things better. (For example, my little cousins almost didn’t make it to my wedding because their visas didn’t come in time, and you need a visa to come from Mexico to the U.S. but NOT vice versa. I don’t think that’s fair, and my first step in changing unjust border policies is simply sharing my story). I suppose if I had a blogging mantra, it would be “The personal is political. The political is personal. And the mundane is universal.”

Writing here is by far my favorite hobby, and I never cease to be surprised that my friends and family care enough to read my rambles, so thank you. It really means a lot.

A comprehensive summary

Feel free to leave a comment

